Words

I have always loved words. I read The Little House on the Prairie when I was 5 years old and realized how magical it was to visit another time and place. It wasn’t until I had children of my own that I realized how extraordinary it was for a child so young to read that book, without help. 

For the next seven or eight years I read every historical book my mother would bring me. There were several that I loved so much I read them over and over. Especially The Journey Home by Isabelle Holland, Calico Captive by Elizabeth George Speare and Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.

The Journey Home

Then when I was about 12 I came across a book, Talking to Dragons by Patricia Wrede. It’s actually the fourth in her Enchanted Forest Chronicles, but I read it first. I had never been so enthralled by a book. Dragons, swords and the most amazing magic. In fact, I’ve yet to read a fantasy book with magic used so fabulously. If you are a fantasy lover and haven’t read this series, shame on you. It is one of the most unique fantasy worlds out there. This book changed my focus.

I still loved historical fiction, but I began to look for books that would take me to other worlds. I still remember how surprised my mom was (but very supportive) when I became immersed in the Star Wars: Young Jedi Knights series. This, of course, was before the second set of movies came out and before there were thousands of fan fiction novels out there.

I owe my mom so much for teaching me from a young age about the magic of words and the adventures they give us.

Leave a Reply

